How I met My…

HUBS!

I had a few comments about how listening to solo piano is very soothing, and I totally agree and this brings me to my mission statement:

To compose uplifting pianoscapes for the spirit.

This ties into the day we met. Backstory: I left my family and what I knew in Texas for a not really stable job in San Diego, CA. I did not tell my parents this ( this was in 1991 when I left everything I knew.) I drove with a friend of mine, and when we finally got out of the state of Texas, we stopped at Las Cruces, NM. As we rested, I had the worst panic attack of my life. What the HELL was I doing? Why was I leaving everyone and everything I knew?! I was INCHES away to turning around to go back to my home in Dallas. Most of you know that I am religious, and so I said a prayer. I prayed that I would have the courage to continue my journey to California, a place I never thought I’d end up. As the sun continued its journey across the sky, I felt at peace and knew that everything would turn out fine and we started my car and continued on my path to San Diego.

I went to church at the LDS Pacific Beach Singles meeting on the Sunday after I arrived in San Diego. I was early for the meeting, and no one else was in the chapel so I walked in and noticed a lovely grand piano waiting for me to play it. So I played for an hour, until our meeting began. I had not noticed the people that had come in quietly and sat down to listen. Among them was my future husband.

Kori at the beach!

Kori at the beach!

I would go practice there as much as I could, and when I did he was there sitting listening. He has since then told me that he loves my solo piano compositions the best and he loved listening to me play in the chapel. That is how he got to know me on my musical level. The rest is history… 🙂

Fire in the Rainstorm is the return to my solo piano compositions. It is a bold step for me.

Working at Imaginary Road Studios in April 2014

Working at Imaginary Road Studios in April 2014

I have always have hidden the solo piano aspect of my piano work or felt comfortable with other musicians playing along with me. This album has compelled me to release it as a solo piano album. I feel VERY confident about the work Will Ackerman, Tom Eaton and I did at Imaginary Road Studios last year. It was a powerful few days filled with a lot of emotion for me. I am SO grateful for the generosity of so many that helped make it possible. So much going on, and May 15th is coming fast!

So many stories to share with you.

Peace in Music…

Kori

About Kori Linae

I am a musician. I play piano, keyboards and native american flute. I compose music to express my journey in the hopes I can help you with your journey! I love the ocean, walking and reading. Peace in Music.. is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

