An April Snow Story…

A year ago, I flew to Bradley International Airport in Connecticut.  I love flying there because driving to Vermont is about an hour and a half away.  Its an easier drive  than coming from Boston.  ( I do love Boston tho..).  Why was I in New England?  Most of you know, I was working on Fire in the Rainstorm.

Vermont

Winter in Vermont – January 2009 Photo by Kori Linae Carothers

Backstory: I have not been in snow since 1979.. well a state that has more snow than 2 inches per year.  I’ve driven in it in 2009, while working on Trillium. However, this does not make me a perfect snow driver!

Story Time:  I noticed the weather was looking kind of ugly for the evening of my drive, however I hoped that it was a fluke because.. after all it was April right? It doesn’t snow much in April does it?
WRONG… As I began to go north on 91 to get to Vermont, the snow started very innocently. In fact I was highly entertained by it. Then as the sun started to go down, I became worried.. because the snow started coming down faster and it was getting colder. ( Cold for me is awful.. since I’ve not experienced the true cold of snow in a very long time).  I forgot just how crazy it could get with snow and wind.  Not only was the snow coming down hard, it was windy too.   My hands started to ache because I was gripping the steering wheel very hard. I was almost out of Massachusetts and still the storm was getting worse.  I was scared because the visibility was going down. I kept thinking.. ok I will stop at the next town and spend the night.  That is how bad it was.  However, there was something telling me I could make it. ( I was driving to Newfane, VT where I was staying).  “Keep going, you’ll make it”.. I kept hearing that in my head. My hubs called me to see if I was alright. Lucky for me, I had my hands free headset with me.  It was nice to hear his voice encouraging me.  I knew the connection was sketchy because I was coming up on the border of Mass, and Vermont, and the phone went dead.  I was tearing up, and I felt panic welling up. I looked in my rear view mirror and saw people following me; trucks, cars.. it was amazing.  I knew I could make it.

I turned off on the right road into Brattleboro.. and guess what?  There was construction going on this bridge on 30.  I had to find my way around it via Dummerston.  I wasn’t sure I was going find my way.. and sure enough my GPS had enough connection to help me turn aside and bypass the construction. The surroundings were familiar, and I began to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  I returned to 30 and found my way to Newfane.. and I was SO happy to see Newfane house waiting for me with her lights on.

Newfane House, VT

Newfane House, VT Photo by Kori Linae Carothers

Country Road 30.. getting close to Newfane, VT. Obviously not during the snow storm!

Country Road 30.. getting close to Newfane, VT. Obviously not during the snow storm! Photo by Kori Linae Carothers

This was the first step for recording Fire in the Rainstorm.. and it was kind of frightening! Keep your eyes peeled as the Pre-order for Fire in the Rainstorm is coming.. I promise!

More to come…

About Kori Linae

I am a musician. I play piano, keyboards and native american flute. I compose music to express my journey in the hopes I can help you with your journey! I love the ocean, walking and reading. Peace in Music.. is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

