Why am I asking for help?

Ok, so most of you know by now that I’ve teamed up with IndieGoGo for the marketing and promotion of FIRE IN THE RAINSTORM to help raise funds.

Why?

funshot

The photo shoot for Fire in the Rainstorm

I have 3 jobs and there are sub categories in those jobs.  I will explain what I do for all three jobs.

  • I am a full time Mom.  This means I have 3 kids still at home. My job with them includes: driving to and from school, early morning activities with our 16 yro daughter who will be a Senior this fall. A 14 yr old son who will be a Freshman in high school in this fall, AND a 12 yro son that is moving into middle school this fall.   I am still their mentor, doctor, teacher, laundress ( ok husband does this), cook, butler, housekeeper, I am a peacemaker, an enforcer,  I am a CFO, a CEO, bookkeeper, I am a quartermaster, I do much more than people realize. Even though our children are older, I am still needed around here.
  • I am a Wife.. which means I am a support to my husband Don.  He is my best friend, my confident, lover, helpmeet, and vice versa. I love him and respect him. As such he loves me and is 100% behind me being a musician. We are a team, and always will be.
  • I am a FULL time Musician. This means: I do the marketing/promotion, I hire people to help from time to time, record label stuff, booking agent, accounting, billing, composer, performer, generate computer reports, social media expert, travel agent, touring agent, I do everything you can possibly think of that an Independent musician needs to have done. I do NOT have the financial backing of a record label. Its me, and what I make, and sometimes the head CFO helps me out.

So those jobs up there, are full time jobs. If I were to take a job say like at a Target, or a waitress, I will come home exhausted not able to work on my home, or work with my kids and be a nice person or have any time to be full time musician during the day.  What I do during the day here at home is not watching TV or playing games. I am actually calling people, connecting with people, planning my tour, rehearsing, doing paperwork, filling out the necessary forms to upload my music to CD Baby, creating my catalog for 3rd party Aggregators – no its not an animal in Florida.  I work until I pick up kids from school. .and SOMETIMES I still work until I cook dinner, sometimes I stay up until midnight to work.

I will say I already tried working part time at a 4th job,  at a music shop. It was fun.. but the same time, I came home beat, too tired to do anything musical, and I lost my focus. I wasn’t in a creative space. Ask my friends they will tell you I was lost for a couple of years.  I want to be a musician, and that is why I am working out of my home for all 3 of these jobs.  NOT only do I deal with all this every day, I have partial hearing loss AND I have a vocal problem too.  I won’t let it overcome me, I will overcome.  I know THIS is what I need to be doing!

I come to you to help contribute because this is a special project.  I believe in myself. I believe in YOU!  We already were able to make the album get recorded.  This journey is the beginning.. not the end.  Everyone has started somewhere, and I know we can do BIG things together.  We are all a generous group.  All of you and you that are new to my music.. I know we can make this happen. THIS is why I need your help. Please consider contributing. Even if it is $1.oo! Everything helps!

To help, Click here:
FIRE IN THE RAINSTORM- INDIEGOGO MARKETING AND PROMOTION CAMPAIGN

The piano at Imaginary Road Studios

The piano at Imaginary Road Studios

If you have any questions.. feel free to message me through here or FB or my email: korilinc@gmail.com .

About Kori Linae

I am a musician. I play piano, keyboards and native american flute. I compose music to express my journey in the hopes I can help you with your journey! I love the ocean, walking and reading. Peace in Music.. is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

