Spasmodic What?

Most of you are aware that I am battling on a daily basis with a neurological vocal disorder.  It is called Spasmodic Dysphonia.  This post is for those that are suffering from it, and feel helpless AND for those that don’t have it that want to be informed. There IS hope!

What is it?  Its annoying, life altering/changing, strange.  Of course I would have the gene that makes my vocal muscles/nerves spaz and when I talk. Strange is my mantra!  I sound like I am 100 years old. The vowels of E and A are the worst to pronounce.

There are many in this nation and around the world that suffer from this.  Most tend to drop from the social scene because talking in a large group makes it VERY difficult. Our voices become rough and soft and we cannot raise our voices in loud places.  Talking on the phone is a trial!

Some become recluses because of the ignorance of people that don’t have it ridicule us or talk over us.

What is the solution? Is there a cure?  There is no cure at this time and there are fixes that can help.  Some people get surgery to fix it. I don’t want to do it because imho, its very risky.  I’d rather take have a “doctor give me a pill and it grew me new vocal chord nerves or fixed them non-invasively”. There are botox injections right into the vocal chords, to help calm down the larger vocal muscles.

I am one that gets botox injections straight into my vocal chords, which helps tremendously.  Were it not for these injections, talking would be non existent for me. Yes it is THAT bad!

Scott Adams (Dilbert cartoonist) has this condition – he had surgery.  Diane Rehm – The Diane Rehm Show is also another iconic celebrity set to go off the air later on this year.  She was diagnosed with Spasmodic Dysphonia.

My goal is to help those in the OC/LA area by setting up a support group here to help others that suffer from this crazy condition.

Remember, everyone is struggling with something. Judging others when you have no idea what is going on with them, is extremely bad form.  Remember that before you open your mouth to criticize them.

For more information about Spasmodic Dysphonia check out the National Spasmodic Dysphonia Association here:    NSDA

 

About Kori Linae

I am a musician. I play piano, keyboards and native american flute. I compose music to express my journey in the hopes I can help you with your journey! I love the ocean, walking and reading. Peace in Music.. is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

