Why I chose solo…

Kori045bw

 

A few years ago, I started writing music that I did not hear any extra sounds, like I normally do.  Most of you know that I do love instrumental music with the piano as its primary instrument.  However, Fire in the Rainstorm was not to be instrumental. It was a choice I made because of personal experiences.  It is the most personal album to date.  It is just me and the piano.  Telling you in a musical solo piano way that I have made mistakes. That I experienced loss, sorrow and pain. My heart is still in that recording.  You can hear it when you listen.

We may not being going through the exact things in life, but we experience the same feelings of loss, sorrow, love, happiness, darkness, light, failure and success! Music expresses this on many levels.  I cannot make you listen to that – but I hope that some of you will.  My hopes are to create more music, based on my life, environmental experiences, friends, family, movies, books and people I watch from afar.

I wanted to do something different. I was told that it would be hard. Yes it was.  The most difficult experience I’ve ever gone through. I am still going through life and I still am experiencing difficult things.   I’ve had new friends cross my path that made a huge impact in my life, and then only to sail on away from them.  That hurts.. it hurts to let go. I’ve had to let go. Its painful – but there is freedom in letting go.

“Letting go gives us freedom, and freedom is the only condition for happiness. If, in our heart, we still cling to anything – anger, anxiety, or possessions – we cannot be free.”  Thich Nhat Hanh

This is why I compose. I know there is someone out there listening for help. Music is the most expressive of all languages. It is universal it is how we can connect with one another. Music transcends the barriers between you and I.

Thank you for enduring with me, for being amazing fans and friends.  Please come and join us as we continue on this journey.  You can be a part of it – Peace in Music.

More to come…. klc

 

About Kori Linae

I am a musician. I play piano, keyboards and native american flute. I compose music to express my journey in the hopes I can help you with your journey! I love the ocean, walking and reading. Peace in Music.. is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

